top of page






Community bands have been a part of Manitoba's heritage for more than a century. The MBA sponsors two community band festivals - an annual event in June and an April festival in Pinawa every odd year.

2024 Community Band Festival


Head to Coronation Park in St. Boniface on Saturday,

June 8th and Sunday, June 9th for two afternoons of

great Community Band Music. There will be 15 bands

over two days playing music from Jazz to classical

and everything in between. The Festival runs from

roughly Noon to 8 on both days with free admission.

Special shout out to Long and McQuade and the

Manitoba Band Association for their support. For

additional information please contact Duncan Hasker


Community Band Festival Schedule:
Saturday, June 8

  • Noon: Dixie Beats

  • 1:00pm: Little Big Band

  • 2:00pm: Friday Morning Concert Band

  • 3:00pm: St. Charles Big Band

  • 4:00pm: Canadian Mennonite University Band

  • 5:00pm: Westwood Community Band

  • 6:15pm: Winnipeg Pops Orchestra

Sunday, June 9:

  • 1:00pm: German Club Band

  • 2:00pm: 252 Legion 

  • 3:00pm: Assiniboia Community Band

  • 4:00pm: Northwinds Community Band

  • 5:00pm: Winnipeg Wind Ensemble

  • 6:00pm: East Side Jazz Band


Note: All performances are weather-permitting.

Event Parking:

  • Coronation Park is bordered by Tache, Eugenie and St. Mary’s

  • There is street parking on Eugenie and Tache. There is a 2 hour limit on Saturday and unlimited time on Sunday.

  • If you are dropping someone off, it is best to take St. Mary’s and turn onto Eugenie.

  • There is a parking lot for the Forum Art Centre (which is in the corner of the park) and that lot is off limits to parking. You can go into the parking lot temporarily to drop off gear, but you cannot enter the park and drive near the bandstand.


Pinawa Community Band Festival

The 2019 Pinawa Community Band Festival took place on April 14th, 2019.  Bands included; Assiniboia, Eastman, Northwinds, Royal Winnipeg Rifles, Westwood, and a massed band lead by Robert Hall.  This festival typically takes place every other year, but unfortunately the 2021 Festival is unable to take place due to Covid-19.


Bob Day Memorial Award


At the annual Community Band Workshop, a yearly award is presented in memory of the late Bob Day, a dedicated community band member who had great musical spirit and a deep commitment to community bands. This award is given to someone who displays the qualities of dedication, commitment and musical spirit.

Past recipients of the Bob Day Memorial Community Band Member Award (BDMCBMA).

1998,  Dayna Nickel of Winnipeg
1999,  Mike Slater of Winnipeg
2000,  Val Pearson of Winnipeg
2001,  Bernard Helfter of Holland
2002,  Bob Corbett of Winnipeg
2003,  Tony Purvis of Winnipeg
2004,  Jon Publow of Winnipeg
2005,  Harold Aiken of Dauphin
2006,  Harvey Winks of Winnipeg
2007,  Annette Verniest of Holland
(We shifted the Community Band Workshop from Nov. to March in 2009, resulting in a "leap" year!)
2009,  Peter Hayward of Pinawa
2010,  Barry Shaw of Winnipeg
2011,  Carole Helfter of Holland
2012,  Vicki Adams of Somerset
2013,  Brian Duncan of Rosebank
2014,  Bruce Childs of Dauphin
2015,  Christina Paul of Winnipeg
2016,  David Patrick of Winnipeg

2017,  Cam Marsland of Selkirk

2018,  Derrick Wainio of Morden

bottom of page