top of page




Please note that the Solo Challenge has been paused pending review.

For any questions, please contact

2022 Results

Junior Category:

  • Winner – Nate Ferguson, Trombone – Acadia Junior High

  • Woodwind Honourable Mention – Yumin Lee, Clarinet – Golden Gate

  • Brass Honourable Mention – Myron Huijgen, Trumpet – Linden Meadows


Intermediate Category:

  • Winner – Sam Ferguson, Trumpet – Fort Richmond Collegiate

  • Woodwind Honourable Mention – Anne Zhang, Bass Clarinet – Fort Richmond Collegiate

  • Brass Honourable Mention – Tyler Wiens, Trumpet – Fort Richmond Collegiate


Senior Category:

  • Winner – Shelli Traskovski, Clarinet – Oak Park

  • Woodwind Honourable Mention – Madeline Penner, Oboe – River East Collegiate

  • Brass Honourable Mention – Xinran Cai, Tuba – Fort Richmond Collegiate

  • Percussion Honourable Mention – Nathan Perkins, Percussion – Fort Richmond Collegiate


Thank You

Thank you to the following volunteers that provided this important educational opportunity for our Manitoba Band students:

Aaron Wilson

Alena Arnason

Alexis Silver

Andrew Klassen

Bill Kristjanson

Cathy Wood

Cheryl Ferguson

Chris Fensom

Darrell Chrisp

Darryl Ferguson

Eric Marshall 

Erin Dodds

Fraser Linklater

Ginny Helmer

Graydon Cramer

Hanna Hashi

Honor Gouriluk

Jacquie Dawson 

Jesse Thomas

Joanne Kosheluk

Kevin James

Kim Pelletier

Laurel Ridd

Lauren Dobko

Lindsay Donnick

Matt Abraham

Matt Careless

Murray Lawrance

Mykayla Santilli

Richard Gillis

Ross Brownlee

Shashi Ramu

Stephanie Wilson

Steven Hwang

Victoria Sparks


Are you looking for a new challenge?

Would you like opportunity to receive one-on-one coaching from

an MBA member?

How about the chance to win a free lesson with one of the top players

in our Manitoba community?

If the answer is ‘Yes’, then you might be interested in the 2022 Solo Challenge!

Important Dates:

  • December 2, 2021 - Registration Deadline

  • November 26 - December 18, 2021 - Individual Coaching Sessions

  • December 22, 2021 - Recorded Submissions Due

  • January 11, 2022 - Results Announced​


  • The MBA Solo Challenge is open to any student in Manitoba who

    1. is between grade 5 and 12

    2. plays a concert band instrument

    3. is taught by a private instructor or band teacher who is a current MBA member

  • $15 Entry Fee

About the Challenge:

  • The Challenge is divided into three categories:

    1. Junior (Grade 5-8)

    2. Intermediate (Grade 9-10)

    3. Senior (Grade 11-12)

  • The challenge consists of two divisions:  Competitive and Non-Competitive.

Competitive Division:

  • Record yourself playing a solo or etude on your band instrument (no longer than 8 minutes) and submit your video recording (mp4)

  • PLEASE NOTE: for the Competitive Division, excerpts of band music or honour band etudes are not accepted. If you have questions about whether your repertoire is suitable for this division, contact us at 

  • Your 30-minute virtual coaching session on your audition will take place prior to submission. You will be paired with a music educator who will offer help in preparing your solo.

  • A winner and honourable mention will be named in each category.

Non-Competitive Division:

  • Record yourself playing any excerpt of music (no longer than 8 minutes) and submit your recording.

  • Participants in the Non-Competitive Division will receive adjudicated feedback but are not eligible for the coaching session or the competition prize in their category.

Applicants participating in the Competitive Division must perform literature for their instrument that would be defined as a solo or etude. Excerpts of band music or honour band etudes WILL NOT be accepted in the Competitive Division.

Feedback will be emailed to all participants during the week of January 9th, 2022.


  • All participants (Competitive and Non-Competitive) will receive a Certificate of Participation and written anecdotal feedback on their submission provided by MBA Members.

  • In each competitive division the top performances in each of three sub categories (woodwind, brass, and percussion) will be recognized. First prize will be awarded to the top performance of the three, honourable mentions to the other two.

  • The First Prize winner in each competitive division (Junior, Intermediate, Senior) will receive a one-hour lesson with a Manitoba private teacher of their choice

  • Honourable Mentions will each receive a 30 minute lesson with a Manitoba private teacher of their choice



Past Results

2021 Solo Challenge Results

2020 Solo Challenge Results

bottom of page